Power Angle

So what is it?

How many of you know what this is?

I had never even heard the word until 5 or 6 months ago.

I hate to toot my own horn here (actually, I dont..haha) But unless you are being paid for your coaching services, you dont read about baseball more then I do. I would also take the “Pepsi challenge”, to those of you who get paid for this. I read more!!

But I digress……

Power Angle… How many of you have been taught, to stay tall and straight up and down when we start throwing home (pic below). The phrase I grew up learning and then teaching my kids was “drop and drive”. All of those phrases and myself, were WRONG!!!!

9AAA. About a year and a half ago

If I stuck a pole from the top of his head, down through the bottom of his drive leg, you can see he’s almost straight up and down. This is the angle we want to correct (power angle). In this photo, I would say bailey is at 1%, if that. Look from his knee down. Its not even in line with his upper leg. Right there is a break in the kinetic chain.

If you remember reading the post about a week ago Bragging, You will remember I got a letter from my best friend Paul Reddick. OK, he’s not my best friend but he might as well be. At the time of the letter, he suggested I work on Baileys “power angle”. That was the first time I had ever heard that phrase before. After nagging him some more and him being AWESOME and helping me out, Bailey is a new pitcher.

Heres Bailey after just a couple conversations with Paul. He still has minor tweaks here and there but his “power angle” has improved drastically

I have been following Paul and the 90mph club for about a year now and am proud to say Im a member. The best part is,  if I have learned anything from what he preaches, it would be his commitment to his followers. I have never missed one of his webinars and he’s always a click away and eager to answer questions.

This little improvement alone has, jumped Baileys radar numbers by AT LEAST 4 mph.

 

This entry was posted in baseball, coaching, pitching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Power Angle

  1. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be at the internet the simplest factor to have in mind of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while folks consider issues that they just do not understand about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the whole thing with no need side-effects , folks could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Hand Seperation | Evolution of baseball

Leave a Reply

